WhatsApp message recall feature now available for everyone

The feature is known as “Delete for Everyone”.
Author:
Publish date:
Social count:
5
Article 47 (5)

WhatsApp’s recall message feature is now available to everyone. The feature allows you to delete messages that you’ve sent to the wrong person or group, in essence recalling the message. The feature started rolling out to users on Friday, so don’t be alarmed if you haven’t got it yet. It seems like the feature is added through a silent update, so you may not actually see an app update on the Play Store.

More details can be found on the company’s FAQ page:

To delete messages for everyone

Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake.

Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in your recipients’ chats (*). Similarly, if you see “This message was deleted” in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.

You can only delete messages for everyone for up to seven minutes after sending. Once seven minutes have passed, there is no way to delete messages for everyone.

The new feature is aptly named “Delete for Everyone” and it seems to be working on Version 2.17.395 of WhatsApp, or the beta versions 2.17.399 and 2.17.400. It’s unclear whether other versions of WhatsApp have the feature right now.

To make it work, you have to select the message in question. You then tap the recycle bin button on the top of your chat window. If you have the Delete for Everyone feature, you should get three different options. Of these, “cancel” will just take you back to the chat windows, while “delete” will take the message off your phone. The last option is “Delete for Everyone” that removes the message from you and the receiver’s phone. Deleting a message shows you a “This message is delete” text if it was deleted by someone else. If you did it, it’ll show that “you deleted the message”.